Education and Student Related Policies

The information on this page is intended for staff involved in teaching. It lists education and student related policies and procedures in three main areas:

  • Programs
  • Student administration
  • Student success

Information for students on key policies is available on the Current Students website.

For all UNSW policies visit the Governance Policy List.

Program Policies and Procedures

(Expand section title for more information, policy documents and contacts)

Policies and procedures to ensure the quality of programs, specialisations and courses

" "

Program Governance

Policy document

Contact for further information

Academic Program Review Policy

Graham Forsyth, Chair Program Review Committee (g.forsyth@unsw.edu.au)

Academic Program Review - Coursework Programs Procedure

Program Disestablishment Procedure

Sarah Thomson, Head of Academic Administration (s.thomson@unsw.edu.au)

 

Program design and delivery

Policy document

Contact for further information

Program Design and Delivery Policy

Program design: Bob Fox, Curriculum Design Lead (bobfox@unsw.edu.au)

Program delivery: Marina Harvey, Director, Academic Development Services (marina.harvey@unsw.edu.au)

Program rules and structure: Sarah Thomson, Head of Academic Administration (s.thomson@unsw.edu.au)

Program Design Procedure

Program Delivery Procedure

Implementation - Program Design and Delivery Policy

Program delivery: Marina Harvey, Director, Academic Development Services (marina.harvey@unsw.edu.au)

Implementation - Program Delivery Procedure

Implementation - Program Design Procedure

Assessment

Policy document

Contact for further information

Assessment Policy

Bob Fox, Curriculum Design Lead (bobfox@unsw.edu.au)

Assessment Design Procedure

Assessment Implementation Procedure

Clare Jones, Head of Student Lifecycle (clare.jones@unsw.edu.au)

 

Education quality

Policy document

Contact for enquiries

Education Quality Policy

Alex Steel, Acting Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) (contact.pvce@unsw.edu.au)

Education Quality Procedure

myExperience Survey Procedure

Keelin George, Manager Student Surveys (keelin.george@unsw.edu.au)

Student Administration Policies and Procedures

Requirements and rules for student admission, progression and documentation of attainment

" "

Admission

Policy document

Contact for further information

Admissions Policy

Rebecca Lawrence, Head of Admissions and Scholarships (rebecca.lawrence@unsw.edu.au)

Admission to Coursework Programs Procedure

International Student Transfer between Registered Providers and PRISMS Reporting Procedure

Charlotte Long, Head of International Student Experience (c.long@unsw.edu.au)

 

Fees

Policy document

Contact for further information

Student Fee Policy

Clare Jones, Head of Student Lifecycle (clare.jones@unsw.edu.au)

Additional contacts

Fees and admission: Rebecca Lawrence, Head of Admissions and Scholarships (rebecca.lawrence@unsw.edu.au)

Fees and program rules/structure: Sarah Thomson, Head of Academic Administration (s.thomson@unsw.edu.au)

Fee setting strategy: Sarah Dunbar, DVCA General Manager (s.dunbar@unsw.edu.au)

Student Fee Procedure

 

Progression and enrolment

Policy document

Contact for further information

Academic Progression and Enrolment Policy

Clare Jones, Head of Student Lifecycle (clare.jones@unsw.edu.au)

Academic Progression Procedure

Enrolment and Withdrawal Procedure

Recognition of Prior Learning Procedure

RPL for credit or exemptions: Clare Jones, Head of Student Lifecycle (clare.jones@unsw.edu.au)

RPL for admission: Rebecca Lawrence, Head of Admissions and Scholarships (rebecca.lawrence@unsw.edu.au)

RPL and program rules/structure: Sarah Thomson, Head of Academic Administration (s.thomson@unsw.edu.au)

 

Merit and graduation

Policy document

Contact for further information

Graduation Procedure

Clare Jones, Head of Student Lifecycle (clare.jones@unsw.edu.au)

Prizes Procedure

University Medal Policy

University Medal Procedures

Student Success Policies and Procedures

Processes and support to enable student success

" "

Conduct and integrity

Policy document

Contact for further information

Student Code of Conduct

Bronwyn Greene, Director Conduct and Integrity (b.greene@unsw.edu.au)

Plagiarism Policy

Kimberley Dickinson, Manager Student Conduct (k.dickinson@unsw.edu.au)

Managing Plagiarism for Students Enrolled in Coursework Programs - Procedure

Student Misconduct Procedure

Student Complaint Procedure

 

 

Support

Policy document

Contact for further information

Coursework Scholarships Procedure

Rebecca Lawrence, Head of Admissions and Scholarships (rebecca.lawrence@unsw.edu.au)

Student Loans Procedure

Filiz Block, Manager Student Support and Success, (f.block@unsw.edu.au)

 

Wellbeing

Policy document

Contact for further information

International Students Under the Age of 18 years - Welfare, Support & Accommodation Arrangements Procedure

Charlotte Long, Head of International Student Experience (c.long@unsw.edu.au)

Required Medical Leave Procedure

Filiz Block, Manager Student Support and Success, (f.block@unsw.edu.au)

Student at Risk Procedure

Student Critical Incident Procedure