Enroling in a self-enrolment course

This page outlines how to enrol into and unenroll from a course with self-enrollment keys.

Note: If a user un-enrols themselves and then re-enrols into a course, even into a new role, the user data from their previous enrolment will be available again. Unenrolling and re-enrolling does not clear user data such as assignments and quiz attempts.

Enrol to a self-enrolment course

  1. Ensure you are logged into Moodle. See How to Log In and Access a Moodle Course.
  2. Access the link to the course given to you by the instructor or staff member that set up the course. The link will usually look something like this: http://moodle.telt.unsw.edu.au/course/view.php?id=12345
  3. You will be presented with a page with the self-enrolment options. If you are not presented with the self-enrolment options and you can see the course, this means that guest access has been enabled. You can access some resources but will not be able to interact with activities that require your identity (example, assignment submission). In this case, click Settings > Course administration > enrol me in this course and continue.

    Self enrol
     
  4. Find the section for the role you have been given and enter the correct enrolment key for that role.

    Enter enrolment key

    Click Unmask if you would like to reveal the enrolment key to check it is entered correctly.
     
  5. Click Enrol me
    Enrol me

     

Unenrol from a self-enrolment course

  1. Log into Moodle and navigate to the course to unenrol from.
  2. Locate the course settings block (this may be in different locations depending on your settings).
  3. Select the link: “Unenrol me from …” 
    Unenrol me from
  4. Confirm the selection
    Do you really want to unenrol...